ICD-10 Code
International Classification of Diseases, 10th Revision
Oct 21, 2018

See: Esophagitis

K20 is NOT a complete or valid ICD 10 diagnosis code.

You should code each health care encounter to the level of certainty known for that encounter. When sufficient clinical information is not known or available to assign a more specific code, it is acceptable to report the appropriate unspecified code.

See below for more specifc codes relating to
Use Additional Code
  • alcohol abuse and dependence (F10.-)
  • code to identify:
  • erosion of esophagus (K22.1-)
  • esophagitis with gastro-esophageal reflux disease (K21.0)
  • reflux esophagitis (K21.0)
  • ulcerative esophagitis (K22.1-)
  • eosinophilic gastritis or gastroenteritis (K52.81)

More specific codes for Esophagitis

  • K20.0 - Eosinophilic esophagitis
  • K20.8 - Other esophagitis
  • K20.9 - Esophagitis, unspecified
See also ICD 10 code for
Back to K20
See the ICD-10-CM Coding Guidelines.

Questions related to K20 Esophagitis

When ICD 10 was implemented on October 1, 2015, it did not affect physicians', outpatient facilities', and hospital outpatient departments' use of CPT codes on Medicare Fee-For-Service claims. Providers should continue to use CPT codes to report these services.