ICD-10 Code
International Classification of Diseases, 10th Revision
Mar 25, 2019
I50.2 is NOT a complete or valid ICD 10 diagnosis code.

You should code each health care encounter to the level of certainty known for that encounter. When sufficient clinical information is not known or available to assign a more specific code, it is acceptable to report the appropriate unspecified code.

See below for more specifc codes relating to
Systolic (congestive) heart failure
Inclusion Term
  • Heart failure with reduced ejection fraction [HFrEF]
  • Systolic left ventricular heart failure
Code Also
  • end stage heart failure, if applicable (I50.84)
  • combined systolic (congestive) and diastolic (congestive) heart failure (I50.4-)

More specific codes for Systolic (congestive) heart failure

  • I50.20 - Unspecified systolic (congestive) heart failure
  • I50.21 - Acute systolic (congestive) heart failure
  • I50.22 - Chronic systolic (congestive) heart failure
  • I50.23 - Acute on chronic systolic (congestive) heart failure
See also ICD 10 code for
See the ICD-10-CM Coding Guidelines.

Questions related to I50.2 Systolic (congestive) heart failure

When ICD 10 was implemented on October 1, 2015, it did not affect physicians', outpatient facilities', and hospital outpatient departments' use of CPT codes on Medicare Fee-For-Service claims. Providers should continue to use CPT codes to report these services.